Top Stories

Sheltered walkways to MRT stations

MORE ON THE WAY: A covered walkway linking the bus stop and Lakeside MRT station.


    May 30, 2014

    Sheltered walkways to MRT stations

    HEARTLAND commuters will benefit from sheltered walkways within a 400m radius of their nearest MRT station by 2018.

    The Land Transport Authority (LTA) announced in a statement yesterday that work will begin in the final quarter of this year, and be completed progressively over the next four years.

    The move will add more than 200km of sheltered walkways - four times more than the 46km currently - to the public transport network.

    Signs and local maps will also be provided, along with health information at rest-stops along the walkways.

    "Commuters will enjoy a more comfortable walk to the transport nodes to get to their destinations - rain or shine," the LTA said.

    It has also called a tender to add covered links to another 29 MRT stations, 38 LRT stations and one bus interchange.

    Currently, sheltered walkways are provided from transport nodes to schools and health-care facilities within a 200m radius. They are also built within residential estates by town councils.

    The LTA announced last January that its Walk2Ride programme would expand this to cover schools, residences and public amenities within a 400m radius of all MRT stations, and a 200m radius of all LRT stations and bus interchanges.

    It has awarded the first two of four contracts for the programme, worth some $156.6 million.

    The first - worth $80.3 million and covering 24 MRT stations in the north-west - went to Singapore Piling & Civil Engineering-Shincon Industrial Joint Venture.

    It will carry out work at most stations along the North-South Line, between Ang Mo Kio and Bukit Batok, as well as those along the East-West Line, from Tiong Bahru to Joo Koon.

    The second contract, covering 35 stations in the north-east and costing $76.3 million, was awarded to Planar One & Associates.

    It covers mainly stations along the North-East, East-West and Circle Lines, as well as the Bishan, Braddell and Toa Payoh stations along the North-South Line.