Top Stories


    Jun 10, 2016

    Chemistry students, you have 4 new elements to learn

    THE four new elements announced in December last year have received their new names: nihonium (Nh), moscouvium (Mc), tennessine (Ts) and oganesson (Og).

    The names for the quartet of super-heavy elements, which complete the seventh row of the periodic table, will be on a five-month probation, the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry announced on Wednesday.

    They will undergo a public review - where those interested can provide comments or feedback - before the union approves the names officially.

    International Union of Pure and Applied Physics president Bruce McKellar explained in a media release to The Straits Times that the elements were named after a country, a state, a region and a physicist involved in their discovery.

    All four are synthetic and were discovered by slamming light nuclei into each other and tracking the decay of radioactive super-heavy elements, which exist only very briefly before decaying into other elements.