Top Stories


    Mar 26, 2015

    11 MPs to speak in Parliament today

    ELEVEN parliamentarians will pay tribute to Lee Kuan Yew at a special Parliament sitting at 4pm today.

    Speaker of Parliament Halimah Yacob will make introductory remarks before the parliamentarians make their speeches.

    The 11 MPs who will be speaking are:

    Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen, Leader of the House and MP for Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC

    Seng Han Thong, MP for Ang Mo Kio GRC

    Low Thia Khiang, secretary-general of the Workers' Party and MP for Aljunied GRC

    Former home affairs minister Wong Kan Seng, MP for Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC

    Thomas Chua Kee Seng, Nominated MP

    Masagos Zulkifli, Senior Minister of State for Home Affairs and Foreign Affairs, and MP for Tampines GRC

    Vikram Nair, MP for Sembawang GRC

    Sim Ann, Minister of State for Education and for Communications and Information, and MP for Holland-Bukit Timah GRC

    Chia Yong Yong, NMP

    Christopher De Souza, MP for Holland-Bukit Timah GRC

    Indranee Rajah, Senior Minister of State for Law and Education, and MP for Tanjong Pagar GRC

    One minute of silence will be observed following the tributes.

    After the special sitting, all parliamentarians, including Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, will pay homage to Mr Lee.

    Admission to the special sitting will be for invited guests only. These include civil servants, members of Singapore's old guard, unionists, grassroots leaders, students, a broad spectrum of society comprising Singaporeans from all walks of life, and members of the media.

    Participants will be wearing black ribbons to mark the occasion.

    There will be "live" coverage of the sitting on 938LIVE; Channel News Asia; Parliament's website; and