Vardy wins Footballer of the Year prize

HE'S ON THE BALL: Vardy has scored 24 goals for Leicester and England this term.


    May 03, 2016

    Vardy wins Footballer of the Year prize


    LEICESTER forward Jamie Vardy has been voted the 2016 Footballer of the Year by the Football Writers' Association (FWA).

    The 29-year-old took the award as a clear winner ahead of team-mates Riyad Mahrez, who had already taken the Player of the Year award voted on by his fellow professionals, and N'Golo Kante.

    Vardy has already scored 24 goals for club and country so far this season as the Foxes close in on what would be a remarkable Premier League title triumph.

    They will be crowned champions should closest rivals Tottenham fail to beat Chelsea this morning (Singapore time).

    Seven Leicester players received votes in the FWA poll, with midfielder Danny Drinkwater, goalkeeper Kasper Schmeichel as well as defenders Wes Morgan and Danny Simpson also receiving votes.

    Vardy will be honoured with the prestigious FWA accolade, which has been running since 1948, at a gala dinner in London on May 12.

    Other players to receive votes from FWA members were Tottenham striker Harry Kane, West Ham playmaker Dimitri Payet, Manchester City duo Sergio Aguero and Kevin de Bruyne as well as Spurs midfielder Dele Alli.

    Vardy said: "It's a great honour to win such a prestigious award and to have my name added to a list of previous winners that includes some unbelievable players."