Suarez named PFA player of the year

30 GOALS AND COUNTING: Suarez is the first Liverpool player since Ian Rush to score 30 league goals in a season.


    Apr 29, 2014

    Suarez named PFA player of the year


    CONTROVERSIAL Liverpool striker Luis Suarez was named the English Professional Footballers' Association (PFA) player of the year on Sunday.

    The 27-year-old Uruguayan has scored 30 goals and contributed 12 assists this season as Liverpool head the Premier League table with two matches remaining.

    "The Premier League is full of really great players and so it is a great honour when these players recognise your work on the pitch," Suarez said.

    "I always try my best for the team and it is nice to get awards but really this is for my teammates and the staff at Liverpool because without their help I wouldn't have this prize."

    He claimed the honour ahead of teammates Steven Gerrard and Daniel Sturridge, as well as Chelsea midfielder Eden Hazard, Manchester City's Yaya Toure and Adam Lallana of Premier League surprise package Southampton.

    The irrepressible Suarez, the first Liverpool player since Ian Rush in 1986-87 to score 30 league goals in a season, has helped the likes of fellow striker Sturridge to flourish.

    His personal haul was achieved despite his missing the first five league games of the season as he served the remainder of a 10-match ban for biting Chelsea's Branislav Ivanovic last April.

    He has tormented top-level defenders with his speed, guile and deadly finishing and none of his 30 goals have come from the penalty spot.

    "He's a remarkable player. His determination and his desire are at such a high level. He gets his rewards," manager Brendan Rodgers said of Suarez.

    Hazard was named PFA young player of the year but no players from soon-to-be-dethroned champions Manchester United or Arsenal were in the select side.

    PFA Premier League team of the year: Petr Cech (Chelsea); Luke Shaw (Southampton); Vincent Kompany (Manchester City); Gary Cahill (Chelsea); Seamus Coleman (Everton); Eden Hazard (Chelsea); Yaya Toure (Man City); Steven Gerrard (Liverpool); Adam Lallana (Southampton); Luis Suarez (Liverpool); Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool).