Lang wins US Women's Open in dramatic play-off

TRIUMPH: Lang, who got the better of Nordqvist, won the three-hole aggregate play-off after coming up with three consecutive pars.


    Jul 12, 2016

    Lang wins US Women's Open in dramatic play-off


    AMERICAN Brittany Lang won her first major title in dramatic fashion at the US Women's Open on Sunday after her play-off opponent, Anna Nordqvist, was assessed a two-stroke penalty for grounding a club in a bunker.

    Following a video review by United States Golf Association officials, the Swede was penalised for her actions in a fairway bunker on the second extra hole, the par-four 17th, where her five-iron lightly grazed the sand on her takeaway.

    According to rule 13-4b, a penalty is invoked if a club touches the sand in a bunker before the downswing, no matter how light the contact.

    Nordqvist was informed about the penalty only after she had hit her third shot on the third extra hole, the par-five 18th, leaving the title up for grabs for Lang after both had parred the first two holes.

    Lang, whose only previous LPGA victory came at the 2012 Manulife Financial Classic, ended up winning the three-hole aggregate play-off after making three consecutive pars. Nordqvist finished at three-over after bogeying the 18th.

    "It was definitely a shame for Anna for it to come down to something like that," Lang, 30, said after being presented with the gleaming silver Open trophy.

    "I am ecstatic, I feel for her but definitely it (the penalty) took a little bit of pressure off me. I can't believe it. It means absolutely everything. This is what you dream of. It's amazing."

    Lang's win ended a run of four victories by South Korean players at the US Women's Open over the past five years.