Google adds Undo Send feature to Gmail

ACTIVATE: Check the box, which can be found under the General tab on the Settings page, to enable the Undo Send feature in Gmail.
Google adds Undo Send feature to Gmail

LAST CHANCE: Your final chance to cancel sending an e-mail pops up when this notification appears after you click the send button.


    Jun 26, 2015

    Google adds Undo Send feature to Gmail

    WE'VE all done it before: Sending that ill-advised, ill-timed e-mail. Whether it is to a loved one, to friends or to colleagues, everybody has sent at least one e-mail he wished he could cancel right after he clicked the Send button.

    While there's no time machine to erase the mistakes of stupid e-mails sent in the past, there is now a way to cancel a recently sent e-mail, if it is done within a specific window of time.

    Google has introduced the Undo Send feature on its Gmail service, which means that its users can now send e-mails without worry - cancellation is just a click away.

    It is turned on by default for users of Google Labs but for general users, the feature will be rolled out over the coming weeks.

    We're not in Google Labs but it's already available for us, so you might need to check your Gmail account to see if it is there.

    You can do that by going to the Settings page. Under the General tab on the page, scroll down till you get to the Undo Send section.

    If you don't have it, then Google has not activated it for your account yet.

    You need to tick that box and set the time period for which you can undo e-mails. We recommend 30 seconds (the longest option available), which gives you more than enough time to ponder whether you really want to send that e-mail or cancel it.

    Make sure to save your selection before you go back to your Gmail Inbox or the setting will not be saved.

    Once you've turned on the Undo Send function, try it out by sending a test e-mail to yourself. Type anything you want and then hit send.

    A notification will pop up at the top of your screen once you've sent the e-mail - as is the case, usually - but there is now an Undo button at the end of it. If you decide to cancel sending your e-mail for whatever reason, click that Undo button.

    Now you can send e-mail without fear. Just remember not to close your Web browser immediately after sending.


    For more reports on the go, check out the "MyPaper" iOS and Android apps.